Lindsey Thompson's Blog

Where To Practice Event Planning…

Posted on: August 29, 2010

After graduation I hope to do event planning, but it seems as though all jobs in the “real world” require experience just to get hired.  But how do I get experience if no one will hire me?!  Two Solutions:

Internship:  This summer I interned at the Corridor Business Journal doing marketing and event planning. A summer full of planning everything from banquets, to book readings, to golf tournaments gave me some of that “experience” and at the end of the summer resulted in a job!

http://www.corridorbiznews.com

Student Organization: My freshman year I joined the organization SCOPE which in the University’s student run concert production group. Along with planning and promoting concerts at the school, I am the special projects director now, so I get to plan events for the members of SCOPE.

http://www.scopeproductions.org

Leave a Reply

